jump to navigation

The bets are on! September 6, 2006

Posted by dorigo in games, internet, news, personal, physics, politics, science.
trackback

Ok, I have 250$ out with Gordon Watts, and a further 750$ out with Jacques Distler. I still need a confirmation from Jacques, but it looks like things are set. So, no more bet offers here to me, sorry. Although, since I know at least a person who would be willing to bet on my side (well, know is a big word here, since he posts comments anonymously here), if anybody wants to put money out on the existence of new physics that LHC can find with 10 fb-1 of data,  they can leave a comment here…

How very exciting. Unfortunately, I think it will really take quite some time to get to 10 fb-1 of analyzed data by CMS and Atlas.

Another thought is: I am in CMS. I think Gordon is in Atlas. If my collaboration sees a 5-sigma effect, I think I will be tempted to try and kill the analysis before it becomes public :) And I think Gordon will push like hell if Atlas sees something on the verge of discovery!

Conflicts of interests… Berlusconi, our master in that field, taught it is _good_ to have a conflict of interests. Because what others perceive as a conflict of your interests, you actually know it is a perfect match between your public charge and your personal gain…

Comments

1. Gordon Watts - September 7, 2006

Awsome. It is all set then!

2. amanda - September 8, 2006

Well, we have already made one truly startling discovery: a senior prof at UT Austin makes less than $10^5 a year!!

3. dorigo - September 8, 2006

Well, that is what he claims :) if he wins his bet, I will ask him for his tax declaration of 2006 before paying it!
(Ok ok Jacques, I’ll pay it anyhow, but just for fun!)

Besides, I think it IS possible that he grosses less than 100,000. My gross salary is 30,000 by comparison :(

Cheers,
T.

4. Fred - September 9, 2006

Jeepers Creepers,

I have a new admiration for you poor blokes.

http://commentisfree.guardian.co.uk/francis_sedgemore/2006/08/sedgemore_says.html

Francis Sedgemore, writing an article for the Guardian, Aug. 11, 2006 titled, ‘A farewell to physics?’, puts one light on why your collective salaries could and will continue to be described as extremely anemic. Perhaps this is another reason why females have recently been welcomed with opened arms to fill a void in the field as the interests of men have wandered elsewhere.

Taken out of context, here, Old Willie writes for Hamlet,
“What a piece of work is man! How noble in reason! how infinite in
faculties! in form and moving, how express and admirable! in action how like an angel! in apprehension, how like a god! the beauty of the world! the paragon of animals! And yet, to me, what is this quintessence of dust?”

5. Gordon Watts - September 10, 2006

Yes, I’m in ATLAS, btw. 30,000? I hope that is at least in Euros! How do you afford things like building (or remodeling) your complete home? I make close to $80k US and I can’t afford to do something like that.

6. dorigo - September 10, 2006

No, Gordon, that is in US dollars.

We could buy and remodel the house because my wife is wealthier than I am. But we had to sell the family home of my wife.

Cheers,
T.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

