jump to navigation

Be flexible March 18, 2009

Posted by dorigo in personal, physics.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I was quite surprised to see today a slide from an american CDF colleague, in a talk aimed at a general audience of physicists, containing the picture shown below.

Sure, the message is clear. Be flexible. And I would have nothing to object with regards to the means used to convey that message. However, I have learned the hard way that many -especially in the US- consider sexist things that I consider normal. Thus my surprise. The picture is nice and the girl is pretty, but there is something distinctly sexual in her posture -and please do not even try saying that it feels like that just to me “because I am a sex maniac”.

Comments

1. Singlino - March 18, 2009

LOL
Frankly, any “man” who dsn’t see that there is something sexual about that picture, should go see a doctor.
Also, I find that the picture gives a wrong impression about flexibility in the sense that, that girl is too flexible, is the messege to be too flexible?

singlino

2. Daniel de França MTd2 - March 18, 2009

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I C-A-N-N-O-T S-T-O-P L-O-O-K-I-N-G B-E-E-T-W-E-E-E-N H-E-R L-E-G-S!

Great pic Tommaso! Keep them coming! :D

3. Sumar Ongi - March 18, 2009

I wonder what picture would your colleague show to convey the message “be rigid”. In any case, I like this picture. It reminds me a lot of a girlfriend of my youth. Ah, being young again…!

4. Paolo - March 18, 2009

you are a sex maniac

5. Gordon Stangler - March 18, 2009

Oh, sweet cheese… That just looks like it hurts.

6. carlbrannen - March 18, 2009

Another vote for “sex maniac”.

In America, we only consider women with large breasts to be sexy.

7. arebe - March 18, 2009

could also mean the more flexible you are, the more people look how to screw you :-)

8. Alexander W. Janssen - March 19, 2009

No need to check if “every shoe fits” :)

People looking for sexism will find it in every branch of every tree.

Just like when Dee Snider from the band Twisted Sister said “Mrs. Gore was desperately looking for sado-masochism, so she found it in our songs…”

I wouldn’t pay too much attention.

Alex.

9. Luboš Motl - March 19, 2009

I completely agree that you must be a sex maniac because for sanely device man, the pose is overly flexible. The D0 colleagues should check this part of the CDF work, too – and maybe recommend you mass castration.

10. mfrasca - March 19, 2009

Tommaso,

This is pure evidence that you are a “sane” sex maniac. This is a quality shared by many.

Marco

11. Thomas Larsson - March 19, 2009

Real or Photoshop?

12. Haelfix - March 20, 2009

Dating a woman like that would be fun, up till the point where she decides you should join her yoga class.

13. carlbrannen - March 31, 2009

Along this line, here’s the Ross Sisters, flexibly dancing in 1944, to the song “Solid Potato Salad”.

14. carlbrannen - March 31, 2009

Hmmm. Link didn’t work. Let me try again. Ross sisters, dancing in 1944. Or, if that doesn’t work, try http://iowahawk.typepad.com/iowahawk/2009/03/why-we-won-wwii.html

15. Pyth0n - September 18, 2009

does anyone know what that girls name is?

16. dorigo - September 18, 2009

Python, no, I do not know the name, why do you care ?
Cheers,
T.

17. Pyth0n - September 18, 2009

Dorigo,
I first saw her in a post almost a year ago. it looks like she has become even more . . limber since then. i wanted to run a search to see if she has any other pics out there, but i don’t know who she is.

Gracias mi amigo
P.

18. The Redneck - October 17, 2009

Name, hell–anybody got her phone number?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers

