jump to navigation

Mezze maniche with bay scallops and asparagus November 2, 2006

Posted by dorigo in food, personal, social life, travel.
trackback

Yesterday evening I was feeling in a cooking mood. So I left office early (well, 7.30PM actually, but still early for the typical rythm when I am at Fermilab) and headed to Dominick’s to get the necessary groceries for an experiment: pasta with sea scallops and asparagus tips.

I got a large bag of frozen bay scallops and two pounds of asparagus. At home, I cut the better part of the asparagus in half-inch long bits, placed them in a large pan, added salt, extra virgin olive oil, and parsley flakes, and half a glass of water, and cooked at medium temperature.

The scallops were thawed in warm water, washed, and placed in another pan, where I sprinkled them with salt, again olive oil, black pepper, and lemon juice. I cooked them at low temperature for quite a while, subtracting the excess water they were giving out a couple of times, and consuming the rest until there was a thick broth left.

I cooked the pasta al dente, added the asparagus to the scallops, got rid of the boiling water of the pasta, and added the latter to the mix. Then let the whole thing mix together by cooking for a couple more minutes at high temperature.

Just as I was doing that, Julien and Silvia arrived from Fermilab, and sat down for dinner. The pasta was quite good, although there were mixed opinions on whether more pepper would have improved the taste (Julien) or more salt (me) – I always like things a bit more salted than what others do.

We drank a good Pinot Grigio Albola DOC with the pasta. It is a good wine from Friuli, a wonderful place for whites. However, I would have fancied more a Tocai from the eastern hills of Friuli, which is my favourite wine. Can recommend two lesser known brands: Luisa and Specogna, both excellent… Unfortunately, you cannot find them easily in the US (and if you did, they’d cost a fortune probably!).

By the way, I just remembered I did post a pic of the Specogna here from the Azores conference wine tasting session… I might cut it and paste it here. Maybe later!

And I will post a picture or two of the final result here once Silvia downloads them…

Update: here is how the Tocai Specogna looks like…. From the table at the wine tasting last September:

Comments

1. Cristian Specogna - January 3, 2009

E’ un gran piacere per me che tu abbia bevuto ed apprezzato i nostri vini…complimenti per i risultati da te ottenuti fino ad oggi..un saluto dal friuli ed un augurio di felice anno nuovo!

2. dorigo - January 3, 2009

Grazie Cristian, io continuo ad apprezzare i vostri vini (ne ho comprate 18 bottiglie meno di un mese fa) e faccio spesso proselitismo sul Sauvignon e il Tocai che considero davvero eccellenti (non sono un grande intenditore ma qualcosa capisco).

Un augurio del tutto interessato di buon lavoro nel 2009!

Saluti
T.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

