jump to navigation

At the Atlas/CMS italian workshop… November 23, 2006

Posted by dorigo in news, physics, science, travel.
trackback

Today I am in Bologna, for a joint workshop of italian physicists working in Atlas and CMS. The idea of the workshop is to create a forum for an exchange of ideas on how to perform physics analyses with the two detectors, in particular discussing the available resources and possibilities granted by the first few hundred picobarns of data the LHC will provide in 2008, the common challenges we face given the conditions at start-up and the initial calibration, trigger, and commissioning issues.

The workshop is the first in the series. I expect to hear interesting facts about the schedule of the experiments in the next two years: I am here to learn, and possibly give my humble contribution to the discussion…

I will report later about any interesting ideas I get to know about. For the moment, what I can say is that there is a large attendance, that the chairs are red, and that the wireless is working…

