jump to navigation

W mass blessed but not public ? December 22, 2006

Posted by dorigo in news, physics, politics, science.
trackback

I have been informed by the authors of the W mass measurement in CDF that, although their result is blessed, it should not be made public until CDF makes a public announcement officially, at a Wine & Cheese seminar on January 5th.

The publication of this one result by CDF is taking a baroque form. We first blessed the uncertainty without knowing the central value – then the central value was disclosed, but with a 100 MeV offset. Then the offset was removed, and the result was preblessed. Now the result is blessed, and still they tell me it should not be made public.

That, in my opinion, is not the way one should do science… But I am a member of CDF, and will comply with the decisions of our executive board. However, I am not sure what those decisions are in this specific, very particular case – and the Atlantic Ocean makes it difficult to find out, with Christmas approaching. So while I am getting informed on the details, I have removed all the information from this blog… 

