jump to navigation

Guest post at Backreaction January 29, 2007

Posted by dorigo in Blogroll, internet, personal, physics, science.
trackback

Sabine Hossenfelder (aka Bee)  published yesterday evening a post  I wrote about myself -and why I became a physicist- at her site . Check it out… There is even a funny picture I took with my webcam the other day.

An excerpt:

“When I was a kid, I used to be a little mathematics genius. I was fascinated by math and its rationality – everything was simple, and orderly, quite unlike the shattering relationship between my parents. Math was a refuge […] ”
 

Comments

1. Kea - January 30, 2007

I was a maths geek kid, too, although given the way I was bought up (women belong in the kitchen) I never thought I was really good at it – even when the school teachers would all talk about me for finding errors in the advanced textbooks. But physics was always first choice – because it actually relates to the Real World, and like you I wanted to feel useful.

2. dorigo - January 30, 2007

Yes, we wanted to feel useful, and we both failed utterly😉

You know, sometimes I question myself on whether I am doing anything worthy for our society. I guess keeping a blog is a way of having a backup plan – if the particle physics I make proves useless, at least I can still hope that the divulgation I do with my left hand proves useful.

Cheers,
T.

3. Bee - January 30, 2007

Hey Tommaso,

the picture is pretty cool🙂 I just love to hear other peoples stories! I probably wasn’t a geek at anything, but I actually had maths as a major at College. I even made my BS in maths, not physics.

sometimes I question myself on whether I am doing anything worthy for our society.

Hmm. I’ve written a guest post for Clifford at Asymptotia – should be out the next days. Have a look, you might enjoy it.

Hi Kea,

But physics was always first choice – because it actually relates to the Real World, and like you I wanted to feel useful.

That was also one of my motivations to skip to physics. The maths-world was just too large for me. I was looking for reality to set some constraints on the possibilities. Sometimes I really have to remind myself of this.

Best,

B.

4. dorigo - February 1, 2007

Bee said:

“I’ve written a guest post for Clifford at Asymptotia – should be out the next days. Have a look, you might enjoy it.”

Sure, I will! Actually, let me check now.
Cheers,
T.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

