jump to navigation

Sauvignon from Chile March 27, 2007

Posted by dorigo in food, personal.
trackback

Today’s talks at the Outstanding Questions in Cosmology conference left me quite exhausted, after ten hours in the conference room spent trying to make sense of complex talks on a subject unfamiliar to me, and blogging about them. So I went back to my hotel, had a shower, put on more casual clothing, and went out to explore London’s night life.

A taxi brought me from High Street Kensington to Piccadilly. It was an experiment, and it failed. I wanted to see if it was a reasonable alternative to the tube or the bus these days, but I found out it is a bit too expensive, especially during rush hour. Anyway, I wanted to discuss something else here. 

Wandering around in Soho, a few drinks past what’s advisable, I stopped at a nice little restaurant, which eventually provided me with a filet mignon, a half-bottle of Sauvignon Blanc from Chile, and a creme brulee.

The food was good, but the wine was -surprisingly- just as good if not better. I am now feeling sorry for not having taken a note of the name on the bottle… I am not a real expert with wine, but I have gotten to the point where I can tell you with a sip if a white wine is worth more, less, or about 10 euro at retail. Which is more or less what I need to know.  

And I do not want to get any better in my wine-tasting capabilities: if I did, I would certainly end up escalating to appreciating only more expensive wines, and I would have little more to enjoy if not the thrill of drinking down a full week of salary during a happy evening. No, I think I got to the point where I would become concerned with details too subtle to tell if I learned more. So it is actually ok if I did not take a note of the name of that good Chilean Sauvignon.

Comments

1. marco - March 27, 2007

Just wondering: are you good enough to distinguish a wannabe good wine from a reallly good wine ?
I’m asking because I am not sure *I* am able to do that.
In particular when it comes to red wines, I think the current trend of (over)using barriques tends to ‘flatten’ the taste of these wines, making most of them good enough to a non-expert like me, but (I think) quite boring to someone who really understands what is he/she drinking. And now barriques are becoming popular also for white wines, which is quite a nonsense to me.

2. dorigo - March 28, 2007

Hi Marco,

I do not think I am that good, in fact. And my experience is limited to only a small part of the white wines, and an even smaller part of red ones. I think I can tell you something about Tocai and Sauvignon, for instance, but I know next to nothing about french wines.

Maybe I should follow a course… I wonder if INFN would pay my participation with the funds for the qualification of personnel…;-)

Cheers,
T.

3. marco - March 28, 2007

You should try and get a project funded on the effect of particle irradiation on wine taste😉

4. dorigo - March 29, 2007

That is just a great idea! But I imagine any funding committee would get jealous and kill the project…

T.

5. rayray7 - November 18, 2007

A good way to differentiate the value of wines is the aging process. Pay close attention to the vineyards and the year of the harvest. Well known harvest will readilly put such pertinent information on the label. When you have time checkout fascinating articles on my blog http://www.winesandbenefits.com about red wines,white wines and wine gifts for the holidays.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

