jump to navigation

Miscellanea May 23, 2007

Posted by dorigo in astronomy, Blogroll, internet, news, physics, science.
trackback

Just a few miscellaneous links of things I found interesting in a way or another:

  • The  Sky and Telescope site has the best movie I ever saw showing the surface of Jupiter during a full rotation period. And it was taken by an amateur (one of exceptional capabilities, to be sure), Damian Peach.
  • For the most exquisite Saturn images please visit  the Cassini Ciclops site .
  • A large archive of pictures of the big 1966 flood of Venice and its lagoon has been made available some time ago here
  • In this german site you can create a custom, up-to-date animation of the weather over Europe.
  • Asymptotia and Backreaction are reacting with asymptotical backreactions.
  • Non trivial pentagonal tilings, courtesy Kea.
  • Jennifer Ouellette tells us that it is possible that William Herschel discovered the Uranus rings two centuries before they were scientifically accepted.

Comments

1. Doug - May 24, 2007

SandT does have a great Jupiter movie with Red and Jr Spots.

Is there any possiblity that Jr Spot is related to the Shoemaker-Levy collision merger with Jupiter last decade?

2. Quantoken - May 24, 2007

The tiling problem is an interesting one.

Tiling a plane using a single kind of convex polygon of more than six sides had been proven impossible. The proof is a high school level geometry problem. Now I challenge any one, without doing any web search or go dig in a library, comes up with a proof that it is indeed impossible. It should be trivial.

3. dorigo - May 24, 2007

Hi Doug,

good question… The next one please!
Seriously, I do not know. It is possible, but spots on Jupiter are created often, and I doubt that their source is impacts, which are not very common.

Cheers,
T.

4. dorigo - May 24, 2007

I decline your invitation, Quantoken… Elsewhere I was recently accused of wasting taxpayers money by running a blog… If I start on the problem you mention I would make matters worse!

Cheers,
T.

5. aldo - May 24, 2007

ciao Dommaso
I like you blog. I am addicted.
Could you please add stamp swaps and
stock trades (and add corresponding links)
grazie

6. JoAnne - May 24, 2007

dear Tommaso
I did enjoy reading your blog. Recently,
you could make use of some sobriety
and restraint

7. dorigo - May 25, 2007

Ciao Aldo,

grazie della visita.
The format of the blog cannot be changed, unless I fiddled with the wordpress code – which I prefer not to do. So you will have to find those widgets somewhere else…

Ciao
T.

8. dorigo - May 25, 2007

Hi JoAnne.

Thank you for visiting. I need you to be more specific, because I do not know exactly what you are talking about. Can you point me to what you object to ? If you do not like to do it here, please send me a message, I will use your advice.

Cheers,
T.

9. JoAnn - May 25, 2007

Tommaso
you little scoundrel

10. aldo - May 25, 2007

Tommaso
what is wrong with you.
You can’t fiddle with your blog, so yellow stained
from the so many ‘saws’ it contains.

11. dorigo - May 25, 2007

I think I owe an explanation to those who cannot make much sense of a few short messages that have appeared in this and a few more posts.

The author -or the mastermind behind this- is always the same, and he is amusing himself by posting criticism or direct attacks under false names – franco, aldo, alvin, JoAnn. He is using the real e-mail address of the people he impersonates, to make things more credible.

He probably felt ridiculed here by a post I made recently, and this is his revenge.

As long as the criticism is founded or at least it has some basis while wrong, I am more than happy to answer it in clear here, even if it comes from anonymous posters or fakes. However, that is now becoming useless. I have grown tired of the game, and will not answer more of his posts.

Paolo, you can go back to your other useless occupations now.

Cheers,
T.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

