jump to navigation

One more nice chess game June 21, 2007

Posted by dorigo in chess, games, personal.
trackback

Ok, I seem to be in a good vein lately with blitz games on the Internet Chess Club. I play at home, after a hard day at work (oh well, ok, I do not carry lead bricks around, but I do feel tired nonetheless when I get out of the evening train), and I am not supposed to have much inventiveness left. It does show from my results: my Elo rating for 5-minute blitz is floating at around 1850 points lately, which is at least 150 points less than it used to be. But still, I can salvage a good game for annotation here every once in a while.

So here goes today’s game: a nice 19-move attack.

1.e4 d6 2.d4 Nf6 3.Nc3 g6 4.f4 Bg7 5.Bd3 0-0

This is called “Pirc defence“, and the setup chosen by white is called “austrian attack“. Quite appropriate, since tomorrow I will travel to Austria for a weekend.

6.e5 Nfd7 7.Nf3 c5 8.e6!?

 

Up to move seven included, things are quite standard. I do not know very well the theory of this opening, but I do know more or less the ideas behind the setup, and where to place my pieces. Move 8, though, is a quite speculative pawn sacrifice, which objectively should be refutable by black with correct play. During a blitz game, however, it may not be so simple…

8. … fxe6 9.Ng5 Nf6

 

Possible was also 9….cxd4 10.Nxe6 Qa5 11.Nxd4 (the knight is indirectly defended because if 11….Bxd4? Bc4+ and Qxd4), with slight advantage to black. The move chosen by black seems more logical, but is less effective to clarify the situation, so white can continue to play as if he has the initiative. Now white’s plan is simply to divert the Nf6 and then sacrifice his own knight in h7, to which Kxh7 would meet with Qh5+! (the g6 pawn is pinned on the d3-h7 diagonal), Qxg6, and mate on the light squares.

10.Nce4 cxd4 11.Nxf6 exf6?

But this is a clear mistake. The only good move was 11….Rxf6. White would continue with 12.0-0 Nc6 13.Qe1, but the advantage would be with black.

12.Nxh7!

Of course! Now the game can go back to white’s plan.

12. …Re8 (if 12….Kxh7? 13.Qh5+ Kg8 14.Bxg6 and white has a strong attack) 13.Bxg6 Re7 14.0-0

As a result of the aggressive play and a couple of inaccuracies by black, white is better, and he has clear prospects of a kingside attack. But things will develop even faster than the position suggests…

14. … e5? (Not the best way to defend: 14. … f5 was better) 15.fxe5 fxe5? (Again a mistake. 15. … dxe5 16.Nxf6+ Bxf6 17.Rxf6 Nd7 would keep black alive. Instead, now he is lost) 16.Bg5 Nc6 17.Qh5 Qb6

A pleasure to play such a game: each piece sits in a perfect attacking position, and everything is ready for the final blow. Here, I took maybe thirty seconds to think. I knew there had to be an instant win – the mass of white pieces around the black king is simply too strong. And indeed, I found the simplest way:

18.Rf8+!! (deviation of the bishop from the defense of the f6 square) Bxf8 19.Nf6+

and black resigned. There follows by force 19. … Kg7 20. Qh7 mate

Ah, almost forgot: I was inspired to post a comment to this game by a post by Shazgood.

Comments

1. Santo D'Agostino - June 21, 2007

Very nice, particularly the final rook sac.

Best wishes,

Santo D’Agostino

2. shazgood - June 21, 2007

You had to go and post an even better game than my own, didn’t you?!🙂 Well played game, I enjoyed it immensely.

3. dorigo - June 21, 2007

Thank you Santo, and thanks for visiting!

Shazgood, not just that… I had to go and play one! The game was played two hours ago…

Cheers,
T.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

