jump to navigation

Vacation pictures August 3, 2007

Posted by dorigo in personal, travel.
trackback

It’s been a week since I left Sardinia with my family, and now we are in Padola, in the italian dolomites. I have several things to take care of – a proposal for the ITN, a paper draft to put together, and a course in particle physics to prepare – but I am trying to keep relaxed nonetheless. Here are a couple of pictures from my 2007 summer vacations.

The first shows the kind of water I like – crystal clear, with sand bottom, and a dozen of different tones of blue from ice grey to deep sea tonalities. It is the water of the beach in front of our apartment in Villasimius (I think the name of the beach is “spiaggia del riso”, and the exact locality is Campulongu).

The second shows Filippo and I in the trail leading to Passo della sentinella, at the feet of Monte Popera. Filippo is now all muscles and the moment when he will become a better mountaineer than me is close – but it has not arrived yet. We set a respectable pace yesterday, by covering about 700m of ascent in little more than one hour…

Comments

1. Kea - August 5, 2007

Stunning mountain photo, and you’re lucky to have such a young, fit climbing partner! I’ve only been to the Dolomites (or anywhere in the Italian Alps) in winter (great steep couloirs for skiiing) but I would love to see it in summer sometime.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

