jump to navigation

One more mountain pic August 14, 2007

Posted by dorigo in personal, travel.
trackback

Here is yours truly with his kids, pictured today at 2420 meters above sea level with as a background the trio of peaks called “Tre cime di Lavaredo”, one of the showpieces of the italian dolomites:

The “tre cime” are three beautiful rocks, quite uncharacteristically monolithic – the peaks of the dolomites are typically of very complex shape, as the rock is usually weathered and fissured. There are dozens of vertical ascent paths leading atop the three peaks, some of which are easy and a few quite challenging, and on summer days you will always see pairs or trios of climbers in the middle of a vertical slab of rock. The tallest of the three peaks, Cima Grande, stands at 2999 meters above sea level (9000 ft), and a 500 meter vertical way has been drawn on its north face in 1933 by Emilio Comici and Giuseppe and Angelo Dimai.

We started our walk today at Rifugio Auronzo, passed Rifugio Lavaredo, and arrived at Rifugio Locatelli one hour and a half later – a mediocre timing for Filippo or me, but certainly top notch for 4-years-old Ilaria!

Comments

1. Louise - August 15, 2007

Great photo of you and the kids, always nice to see a family having fun together. Thanks for the link in the previous post.

2. Jason D. Padgett - August 15, 2007

Hello again,

Thanks for the comment. Some were not as kind. lol (I know my claims may sound outrageous to those who don’t go to school with me) The equation I am refering to comes from the Planck constant and the pure geometry of space time. I am still a student in college but all the professors that I have shown this to say it looks like it is correct. What I did initially was to try to ‘draw’ (I’m good at hand drawing fractals of anything, without using z=z^2 +c) the structure of space time keeping in mind Planck’s constant. In other words that everytime you move through space you must move exactly one or whole multiples of one Planck constant. Planck constants also vibrate at the speed of light. What causes the Planck’s to vibrate is uncertainty. In algebra terms I like to think of the Planck constant as ‘The greatest interger function or step functions’. In trig terms it is best to think of Planck constants being related (completely) to a unit circle (but instead of just saying that each side of the unit circle is one, you say that each side of the unit circle is one Planck constant or h-bar).In calculus terms I like to think of Planck’s constant as the right and left handed limits of uncertainty. The more you know position the less you know velocity and the more you know velocity the less you know position etc. Anyway, once you have a grid drawn with Planck lengths and you start them vibrating (from uncertainty) you will see that at specific points the Plancks will collide with each other at the speed of light. What is amazing is that the collisions occur EXACTLY (relative to the center of the wave) on the vertex points of sin, cos ,tan and their negatives. Several of my professors say that it appears that this is where these waves originate from. So I took their angular momentum times the sum of the series of Planck constants (relative to the center of the wave) and multiplied it by the speed of light squared as the series of vibrating Planck constants collide with each other at the speed of light and you get energy. It matches perfectly with Planck’s energy equation of E=hw (where h is Planck’s constant and w is frequency). When you “draw” this diagram the only shape that space time can take is a 2 dimensional hexagon or 3 dimensional cube, it is the only way it can be drawn keeping all point one or whole multiples of one Planck length away from all other points. I believe that this is WHY space time has a gridlike structure in the first place. I won’t go on forever in this email but if you are interested in seeing any fractals or if any one would like to have me prove that I can hand draw fractals of anything then give me an email. I would love to have people that are much better versed in standard mathematics and physics than I am,look at my fractal diagrams and energy equation and critique it. (My weakness is in writing in pure equation). I am a natural though at geometry and I tend to think that geometry is more pure than equation alone. The problem is that geometry shows that it looks like something is correct where equation can PROVE it. That is why I went back to school, to learn equation so that I can apply it to my fractals and energy equation. Im currently a sophmore so within a year or two I should be to the level needed to be able to effectively communicate in pure equation. But again, if you or any one would like to see how and why energy exists (at least from my purely geometric point of view) then give me an email and I will send you the diagrams and a much more in depth explanation of how it works.

I am currently in Russia lecturing but I will be back in Washington state on August 22 and will return any emails then. The computer that I’m using here does not seem to like downloading pictures! Have a great day and always wonder.

Sincerely,

Jason D. Padgett
Tacoma, Washington
jasonquantum1@yahoo.com

3. Kea - August 15, 2007

When you draw this diagram the only shape that space time can take is a 2 dimensional hexagon or 3 dimensional cube…

OK, now that sounds interesting. I’ll email you.

4. Mendo - August 15, 2007

Agree with Louise – great photo! Did you see many cyclists struggling (or in some cases flying) up the passes? Stage 15 of the Giro d’Italia had a summit finish at Tre cime di Lavaredo so was probably pretty popular this summer.

Cheers,

Mendo.

5. dorigo - August 16, 2007

Hi Louise, you’re welcome…

Jason, thank you for describing your ideas here, but I am not the right person to discuss them with – you need a theorist. I am quite
happy in fact that Kea was intrigued enough to want to contact you,
as I see above. Thank you Kea!

Mendo, yes, we did find a few cyclists going up or down to Rifugio Auronzo (the summit of the paved road). Heck, we found cyclists even doing the same route all the way to Rifugio Locatelli – unpaved, and quite rough in places (you have to climb in a few places).

Cheers,
T.

6. Carl - August 17, 2007

Those are some impressive peaks. Getting out and experiencing our world is an important part of growing up and getting to see kids witnessing something like that is great. Thanks for the photo.

7. Carl - August 17, 2007

By the way, I also wanted to thank you for using the SnapShots plug-in. I
have added it to my site to provide information from Wikipedia.org for
terms, companies, organizations, people, etc. It’ll also display a nice
little popup for YouTube videos that I’ve already used once. This is the
first site where I saw it being used.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

