jump to navigation

Paper SENT. Get your copy here! January 24, 2008

Posted by dorigo in news, personal, physics, science.
trackback

…And finally I can announce that our long-fought struggle to publish the Z \to b \bar b signal analysis (which I described in several places in the past, and anecdotically the last time)  is over! That is, if Nuclear Instruments and Methods accepts it. That granted, we have completed all the necessary steps. I feel very happy because I have worked at this topic for 12 years now.

Furthermore, it is a deep satisfaction to publish a second “first observation” of a multijet decay signal in hadron collider data, after the signal of top pair decays into six jets I co-authored with my colleagues in Padova in 1997. Yes, the Z \to b \bar b signal had never showed up anywhere else than at LEP (a lepton collider, where there is no issue with the huge QCD background present in proton-antiproton collisions) until now. This must make me the World Expert on the extraction of resonances from jet final states in hadron collider experiment. Does it ? Judge for yourself. The paper is here for you to grab.

Comments

1. JustChecking - January 24, 2008

Congratz!😀

2. Kea - January 25, 2008

Congratulations! This is exciting, but I already thought of you as a world expert…

3. dorigo - January 25, 2008

THanks JC, Kea. I was sort of kidding in the post… While it is true what I write, that hadronic decay signals are hard to extract and I did it twice, there are people much more committed than I am in the task of finding a light Higgs, for instance, or measuring hadronic top these days…

Cheers,
T.

4. Cite this, would you please ? « A Quantum Diaries Survivor - September 25, 2008

[…] what is the news, you might well ask. The paper was already made available in the ArXiv almost one year ago (and I wrote about the underlying story of a ten-year-long analysis in length). […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

