jump to navigation

Scarlett and Natalie February 17, 2008

Posted by dorigo in Art, Blogroll, humor, internet, personal.
trackback

Peter, over at Not Even Wrong, facetiously directs people willing to discuss the physical appearance of Lisa Randall to my blog. [A long thread and a followup discussion developed six months ago here after I included a description of Lisa in a writeup of a very interesting seminar she gave on black holes at the LHC].

He does it in a discreet manner, without a direct link – and I appreciate the subtlety. Funny how with the internet you directly experience how knowledge is power: from the stats page of my blog I get a “signal” of people looking for “Tommaso Dorigo Lisa Randall”, and with some investigation I am able to figure out it is coming from people reading the comment thread in Peter’s blog.

Anyway, Scarlett and Natalie. As I retorted in the thread at NEW, I am not good at gossip. My wife says I am not interested in the people who surround me: I loathe discussing their life – I find it a rather vacuous way to spend one’s time. But I have my own weaknesses – I am interested in young, attractive girls. I feel no shame in admitting it: at 42, I have not lost interest in young female bodies yet. Got sex in my mind. How’s that for a coming out, JoAnne ?

So, really, Scarlett Johansson and Natalie Portman. They are walking the walks of the Berlin festival, where is presented among others the movie they  acted in, “The Other Boleyn girl“. They are enemies in the movie, but close friends in real life. A rare instance in the world of acting, where beautiful women are accustomed to be prima donnas and the presence of a competitor wreaks havoc. Anyway, a picture with both smiling and looking gorgeous is too beautiful to resist the temptation of pasting it here…

Comments

1. Thomas Larsson - February 17, 2008

Johansson and Portman sure look better than Silvio and Pierferdinando.

2. nige cook - February 17, 2008

Look how shiny their faces are compared to say their arms. Clearly they’re wearing face cream, makeup, etc. Also their eyebrows look artificially groomed and perfect. As for the teeth, they either don’t drink a lot of coffee, have false teeth made of teflon, have porcelain inlays glued on the outside of their visible teeth, or alternatively have regular teeth bleaching sessions to keep them white.

When I occasionally meet girls tarted up to look a bit like that at parties, you feel as if you’re talking to someone who is totally artificial, even down to the well-groomed artificial “personality”. It’s really damning that some film directors get hold of such poor scripts and have such boring direction that they feel the need to include such phoney-appearing dolls just to attract some silly viewers.

I’ve actually had some teeth bleaching done and such like, but that’s not to become an actor, it’s just because I’m still single at 35 and finding any single girls who go on a date is extremely difficult (in fact the older I get, the harder it gets because the larger the percentage of girls of my age who are already married). I can’t understand this media (and public) obsession with girls who look (and maybe are) like plastic dolls.

Yes, they look perfectly cute, but under that skin-deep surface they’re just egotistic, wealthy, actresses, models, or (even worse) lawyers. Yuck. The worst part about it is that they get millions for playing the parts of poor, normal girls in films. The silly viewer then gets confused and mentally associates the nice, loving part being played by the girl with her real personality, which is in fact the exact opposite.

The best way to be sensible about such women is to imagine how they will look in 25 years time. Would you still want to date them when their eyelids etc. are sagging? (If the girl has had cosmetic treatment, shouldn’t you remember that you’re really admiring the skill of her dentist or surgeon, rather than the girl’s intrinsic beauty?)

3. dorigo - February 17, 2008

Oh Nige, come on.

I admit that too much make-up is a turn-off. But those two are beauties just as much at 6AM as they are in the picture.

Anyway, as I read your comment, you sound a bit misogynous to me. Those actresses are young, beautiful, accomplished, wealthy human beings. Whether they are egotistic or otherwise it is anybody’s call. Whatever – they remain a pleasure to behold.

As for the trouble of finding a date at 35, I am afraid I also have to disagree. A single man at 35 is very, very attractive to a similarly aged woman. And likewise. Men and women your age spend a significant fraction of their free time looking for the right person and they will not look so much at appearances as they did ten years before: they want something else in a date, not just a gorgeous lay. My advice ? Look in the internet. There are hundreds of nice women looking for the right person out there. And the internet is powerful because it is so easy to get to talk with one’s heart.

Cheers,
T.

4. dorigo - February 17, 2008

Oh, and forget how they’ll look like in 25 years. If you’re still around, you will love them enough to not care about their looks anymore.

Cheers,
T.

5. nige cook - February 17, 2008

Er, thanks for the advise Tommaso. I’m not a misogynist, just disillusioned about beautiful women. As for the internet, with all due respect, people on the internet are generally a bit crazy.😉

6. arcadianfunctor - February 18, 2008

Tommaso, you sound more like a misogynist on this thread than Nigel. No offense intended, but any guy that appreciates the barbaric nature of cosmetics etc. is probably NOT misogynist. Most of us women participate in these customs, at least some of the time, because to be honest, it is nice to be treated well.

7. dorigo - February 18, 2008

Hi Kea,

I appreciate your point. Look, I said Nige sounded a misogynist because of the fact he looked like he was trying to find a blemish -using makeup- in two beautiful women. I am glad he is not one.

Our society is all appearances and no substance, but this is true for both women and men. In fact cosmetics nowadays sell a lot to men too… But I confess that the barbaric nature of discreetly coloring one’s face has nothing intrinsically offensive either in aim or in result to me.

Cheers,
T.

8. Andrea Giammanco - February 18, 2008

You are a chauvinistic pig and I’m disgusted: how can you talk about Natalie Portman this way, only stressing her physical appearance and some stupid frivolous activity that she happened to do (e.g., cinema)?
Why don’t you write about Natalie Portman’s academic record(*), or the fact that she is one of the very few human beings having a finite Erdős–Bacon number?(**)
Why are you covering these fact? Am I too far from reality, if I guess that it’s because you want to degrade women and diminish their role in academia?
I spit on you.

(*) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Natalie_Portman#Education
“In June 2003, Portman graduated from Harvard University with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, and pursued graduate studies at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in the spring of 2004.[9] At Harvard, Portman was Alan Dershowitz’s research assistant (he thanks her in The Case for Israel). She was also a research assistant in a psychology lab, and in March 2006, appeared as a guest lecturer at a Columbia University course in terrorism and counterterrorism, where she spoke about her film V for Vendetta.[11] In addition to being bilingual in Hebrew[12] and English, Portman has studied[13] French,[14] Japanese,[14] German[15] and Arabic.[16]

As a student, Portman co-authored two research papers which were published in professional scientific journals. Her 1998 high school paper on the “Enzymatic Production of Hydrogen” was entered in the Intel Science Talent Search.[17] In 2002, she contributed to a study on memory called “Frontal Lobe Activation During Object Permanence” during her psychology studies at Harvard.[18]”

(**) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erd%C5%91s%E2%80%93Bacon_number
“Natalie Portman has an Erdős–Bacon number of at most 7. She collaborated (using her birth name, Natalie Hershlag) with Abigail A. Baird,[29] who has a collaboration path[30][31][32] leading to Joseph Gillis, who has an Erdős number of 1.[33] Bacon and Portman have both worked with Matt Dillon, giving Portman a Bacon number of 2 and an Erdős number of at most 5.”

9. Randall - February 18, 2008

Well, what to say: in my humble opinion the two most charming and good young actresses in Hollywood today.

But my favourite is definetely Scarlett, right Scarlett? Sigh, she never answers…😀

Randall

10. Andrea Giammanco - February 18, 2008

> (in fact the older I get, the harder it gets because the larger the percentage of girls of my age who are already married)

Don’t worry Nigel!
Have a look here:

11. dorigo - February 18, 2008

Hi Andrea,

darn it. It is getting tough for men who like women in the XXIst century. Ok, Natalie Portman is a f***ing genius. And she should wear less make-up.

Cheers,
T.

12. Andrea Giammanco - February 18, 2008

She should wear less clothes too, IMHO.

13. dorigo - February 18, 2008

:)) You’re such a sex maniac… I think her purple dress in the picture is generous enough. Seeing more would not be good for you!

Cheers,
T.

14. island - February 18, 2008

Ou la la!

Now… what did I come here for, again?… and who cares anymore…😉

15. dorigo - February 19, 2008

Randall: Scarlett is my favourite too. Now I’m jealous🙂

Cheers,
T.

16. kunal - January 13, 2010

randall scarlet rocks!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

