jump to navigation

The Worldwide telescope May 13, 2008

Posted by dorigo in astronomy, computers, cosmology, internet, science.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Jeff pointed out to me today the remarkable world wide telescope, a site where you can download a software created by Microsoft to browse the heavens as if you were commanding a powerful telescope. The constellations are not maps, but actual pictures, into which you can zoom as much as the images of the digital sky surveys (SDSS and others) allow.

My jaw dropped as I started using the software, which you can download and install on your computer, and which works pretty much like google Earth – downloading the region you are visualizing from the internet. A nice feature is the appearance of a frame of thumbnail pictures around the zoomed area, highlighting the most interesting celestial objects present there. If you click once on each pic the relevant object is highlighted on the map; clicking twice will allow you to download full-resolution image of the object directly from the online databases, including Hubble images.

What I find amazing, however, is the fact that browsing the night sky becomes a thrilling experience at your fingertips in front of the computer. The realism is perfect – these are pictures, in pure google earth style. However, while we never have the need to find a feature on the Earth surface by hovering over it in our real life, that is exactly what we do when we observe the night sky: so the learning experience provided by the program for a user who wants to get better at locating celestial objects is invaluable.

Above you can see a screenshot of part of the WWT window, which I centered on the Deer Lick group of galaxies – NGC7331, a milky way-like galaxy which is the largest member of the group, is on top. Below you can see Stephan’s quintet – a group of five small galaxies of 13th-14th magnitude which is among my favorite targets in deep-sky observing sessions. By zooming in (below), you get to see stars fainter than 18th magnitude, at a resolution comparable to that of  a meter-class instrument. Amazing!

I highly recommend downloading the software. Learning to locate objects will become a wonderful pastime!

Comments

1. Celestial Objects » The Worldwide telescope - May 13, 2008

[…] Original post by dorigo […]

2. Fotorealistischer Sternenhimmel mit dem WorldWide Telescope « Begrenzte Wissenschaft - May 13, 2008

[…] Hattip und erste Bilder: A Quantum Diaries Survivor […]

3. Giulio Guzzinati - May 13, 2008

ehm…
the feature set is perhaps slightly different, but Google Earth does this too…
And it’s cross platform, which is a big plus.

http://it.youtube.com/watch?v=CrUQyeoBcoI
🙂

4. dorigo - May 13, 2008

Hi Giulio,

I had heard of the feature in google, but i never tried it. I happened to try this first, and I think it is great… It will take me maybe two more months before I have a chance to try the google feature.

Cheers,
T.

5. Re: The Worldwide telescope « Blog of too many things - May 13, 2008

[…] The Worldwide telescope Tomaso just had this beautiful posting about Microsoft’s new software, WWT. There were some comments […]

6. Alexander W. Janssen - May 13, 2008

Giulio: Yeah, I agree with you; the plus is that GE is cross-platform, but yet it doesn’t provide that fine pictures as WWT seems to provide. Though I only checked with NGC7331.

Alex.

7. dorigo - May 14, 2008

Hi Alex,

thanks for comparing the two… Now I know I do not need Google too.
As I saw the detail in WWT, I knew this was state-of-the-art, because you cannot beat the SDSS and hubble pictures for resolution – although I agree, my interest is in only some narrow use-cases.

Cheers,
T.

8. To xp or not to xp « A Quantum Diaries Survivor - July 2, 2008

[…] copy my folders, reorganize them in a better logical structure, add mwsnap, irfanview, winhttrack, the worldwide telescope, ghostview, cygwin, firefox, blitzin, ssh, open office… Plus, I had to fix IP addresses, […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

