jump to navigation

Where’s everybody ? June 18, 2008

Posted by dorigo in internet, personal.
Tags:
trackback

The daily hit trend of this blog has been decreasing steadily from about 1300/day to barely 1000/day during the last month; correspondingly, I also see a decrease in the number of comments. While the latter may be due to the choice of less-than-outrageous topics discussed in recent times -no outfit of Lisa Randall, books against evolution by Oktar, failed speeches by Ratzinger, or leaks on possible Higgs signals-, the former may be the result of people on vacation, or falling interest for high energy physics. Or maybe ex-readers of this blog have decided there is no new content here. Anyway, check out the daily trend:

Maybe a better view can be had by looking at the weekly hits below. In it, there seems to be no obvious decline in visits (the last week is still ongoing of course):

All in all, I think it is a fluctuation, and in any case I am undeterred… A good thing about blogging is that one builds something big one brick after another. Looking back at the more than 1200 posts of this site, I do see good content, and I am happy it is there offered to the occasional visitor who arrives here through an internet search rather than from a daily feed. And in any case, I know for a fact that the rest of this year will provide this site with a huge amount of exciting material!

Comments

1. Big Vlad - June 18, 2008

dorigo I am glad you are undeterred. I’ve learnt a lot from this blog, and am really looking forward to future articles in the next year or so, when hep gets really interesting. This is a great time to be a particle physicist…

2. piscator - June 18, 2008

now what i want to know is, when are you going to give the next update on the higgs exclusion plots? this is the number one web source for breaking hep experimental info, whether real or fictitious🙂

3. Kea - June 18, 2008

Keep up the good work. Of course it’s possible that your association with crackpots has led to a decline in your readership, but any reasonable person must appreciate your helpful and interesting posts.

4. Odysseus - June 19, 2008

Ditto. Please keep on; I haven’t found any blag featuring such a fascinating insight in particle physics research.

5. changcho - June 19, 2008

Tommaso – personally I’ve been reading your blog (thanks for writing such an interesting blog!), but have been quite busy to comment lately…but I’m still reading!

Keep up the good work.

6. Tripitaka - June 19, 2008

If you disregard the current (unfinished) week, isn’t the broad trend for the weekly graph actually upwards?

7. Tripitaka - June 19, 2008

… anyway, if you are worried about traffic you know all you have to do is provide some suggestive information to New Scientist. I doubt I would ever have found this blog if it wasn’t for the previous New Scientist publicity.

8. Fred - June 19, 2008

Congrats T.

You’re in good company. It reminds me of that quote by Raymond Chandler writing to his friend about his beloved detective Philip Marlowe:

“I see him always in a lonely street, in lonely rooms, puzzled but never quite defeated.”

9. Amitabha - June 19, 2008

Any explanation for the two big peaks and the two sharp falls in the two pictures?

10. Thomas Larsson - June 19, 2008

Tommaso, this is the only place in the blogosphere where one can actually learn about real, new physics. I am really impressed about the consistent high readability and information content of your posts. Keep up the good work!

11. Paul - June 19, 2008

Euro 2008?

12. Andrea Giammanco - June 19, 2008

What script are you using for monitoring accesses?

13. dorigo - June 19, 2008

Hi all,

well, thank you for the feedback!

Big Vlad: maybe, but an even better one was the ’50, and the ’70 were good too!
Piscator, the next update will be in July.
Kea, sure, we are all cracked pots in some way, so what’s wrong with it…
Tripitaka, that is true – the long-term trend is upward. As for NS: I have reacted to an inaccurate interview last year, and I do not have a good audience there any more…
Fred, I loved the novels by R.Chandler. I did not remember that quote though – maybe because I read them in italian a long time ago. Time for a reading in English maybe.
Amitahba, the peak was due to lots of interest in an issue I covered here, concerning an exchange of letters between Maiani and Carlucci, an ex-pin-up, now a member of italian parliament. See posts in late February for that.
Thanks Thomas. This makes it harder for me to neglect the blog…
Paul, hmmm… I think browsing internet and watching TV are distinct occupations.
Andrea, it is a standard stuff that wordpress provides its customers with.

Cheers all,
T.

14. island - June 19, 2008

Where’s everybody ?

They must have heard that I was planning to write a guest post on the anthropic principle!…😉

15. dorigo - June 19, 2008

Please do!
Cheers,
T.

16. Erik - June 19, 2008

I like your blog so I hope u keep on going. Web traffic varies a lot with the seasons. I think that you’ll see an increase at the end of the summer. Your blog is an excellent source of information of what’s going on at CERN, so traffic will also increase as the LHC starting date approaches.

17. island - June 20, 2008

Wow, if only theorists were as desperate as you are, T…

Okay, meet me at http://www.MasochistsRus.com and I’ll start writing while you cut yourself.

18. Wags - June 20, 2008

I follow your blog from California. Honestly I don’t understand 80% of what you are talking about. But I do find you interesting and on occasion when you do speak in less obtuse mathematical terms I am fascinated with your observations. Of course that doesn’t mean you should change anything, just continue on in your search. It just nice knowing you are out there doing your thing and my sense is you are an honest man who loves his family.

19. Myke - June 21, 2008

Living in Oz, and being married to an Italian girl, your blog appears as a facinating sociological study. The occasional real physics makes popping in from time-to-time worthwhile. I think the trend has some egoic function associated with it, at least that’s what Maria believes.

Myke.

20. dorigo - June 21, 2008

Hello Wags,

sure – changing anything to increase traffic is totally against my creed. I believe one should be pleased if traffic increases because of the quality (and even quantity) of the work one puts in a blog. But seeking traffic by being trendy is simply something else than blogging, in my opinion…

On the other hand, I do value input such as yours. This wants to be a place where things are explained -when I can (and I can only if I myself deeply understand things, which is not always the case)- to non-scientists. So when you say you do not understand 80%, it gives me a normalization point and an aim: bring it down to 50%. I think a scientific piece for outreach should have 20-30% of arcane sentences, just to stimulate thinking, but the rest should be easier to grasp….

Cheers,
T.

21. dorigo - June 21, 2008

Hi Myke,

Oz ? Egoic function ? You are cryptic now.

Cheers,
T.

22. dorigo - June 21, 2008

Island, there are many different kinds of masochism, and I am not into cutting myself. More like getting into trouble with what I say or write, just to see what it’s like.

Cheers,
T.

23. Victor - June 21, 2008

Hi I’m italian , i’m undergraduate student of physic and i found this blog thanks to Gravità zero. i’ve not much time to dedicate it but i think it’s a beautifull idea and it’s my intention to inspire me to this blog for my personal page. I’ve a question for the author: where do you think i’ve to begin to read the post of this blog for better understanding the rest?
Sorry if my english is not good i hope that you understand!

24. Neil B. - June 23, 2008

Hey, you need to post more about sexy topics like the anthropic principle, quantum measurement paradoxes, and so forth!

25. Alexander W. Janssen - June 23, 2008

Hi T.,

IMHO there are 23 reasons:
That’s 22 players and 1 ball🙂

Sorry that the Italians dropped out of the tournament though I have a slight smile on my face when I think of 2006🙂

It’s just football. Keep up the good work!

Cheers, Alex.

26. dorigo - June 23, 2008

Hi Neil,

well, you’re served – see today’s guest post.

Hi Alex,

the european cup is small change for us, we gladly leave it to the next-best team😉

Cheers,
T.

27. nige - June 25, 2008

The fall in readership recently may be a result of the holiday season, or good weather. If people are spending more time outdoors, they have less time to read blogs.

28. dorigo - June 25, 2008

Yes, something lke that… In the summer there are indeed fewer hits on average.

Cheers,
T.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

