jump to navigation

Petra Tou Romiou June 24, 2008

Posted by dorigo in personal, travel.
Tags: ,
trackback

Today I took an afternoon off to run away from computing talks. After finding out that car rentals in Cyprus won’t rent you a car for one day only (insurance problems, apparently -but I suspect it is disadvantageous for them to rent on a daily basis because tourists would squeeze too many miles off a car), a couple of colleagues and I decided for two days. This is a bit of a waste, since tomorrow afternoon we’ll be on an excursion with the conference anyway; but if chess taught me anything good, it is that once one has a plan, one has better stick to it. So we got the car and drove out of Limassol.

Below are a few pictures of the very nice beach of Petra Tou Romiou, also known as Aphrodite’s Rock, where Aphrodite, the greek goddess, was born according to mythology.

All in all, a place certainly well worth a 50km drive!

Comments

1. jewaira - June 25, 2008

Those are lovely, lovely photos! It’s one of the most beautiful places we saw in Cyprus and well worth the drive.

2. nige - June 25, 2008

Thanks for the pictures. I haven’t visited Cyprus yet, but this post makes it look like a worthwhile holiday destination.

3. Daniel - June 25, 2008

Dramatic scenery. Always wanted to write a story about Cyrpus. Thanks for the inspiration. http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com.

4. dorigo - June 25, 2008

Thank you Jewaira. Indeed it is a very nice place, although Cyprus has indeed a lot to give also from the historical standpoint and the archaeological sites…

Nige, ditto – and not too far from London after all.

Hi Daniel, you are welcome. I will have more pictures out tomorrow.

Cheers all,
T.

5. chimpanzee - June 26, 2008

I was in Egypt for the ’06 solar eclipse, & my guide drove me along the northern coast (famous WWII sites like El Alamein, et al) towards Libya/Egypt border. The deep blue waters of the Mediterranean were truly STUNNING! I’m just dragging out my photos from 2 yrs ago (in preparation for the Aug. 1 China solar eclipse). Do you think your photos show the Mediterranean, like you see *visually*?

I reviewed my past solar eclipses recently, & I think the ’98 Carribean eclipse from Curacao was 1 of my favorites. I was setup right on the beach, with the incredibly turqoise waters.

http://www.comet-track.com/eclipse/secl98/secl98.html

6. dorigo - June 26, 2008

Hi Chimp,

well, yes… The water in the pictures looks quite like what I could see. I used no filters, and the camera is a pretty basic one, but the white balance seems well calibrated on outdoor images.

Cheers,
T.

7. A few more pictures from Cyprus « A Quantum Diaries Survivor - June 26, 2008

[…] that, we stopped at Petra Tou Romiou, also known as Aphrodite’s Rock (see pictures in this other post) – but not near the wonderful beach! The guide decided for a bar on top of a hill. I complained […]

8. forrest noble - June 28, 2008

Cool pictures,

Reminds me a little of the ruins in Ephesus, Greco-Roman style.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

