jump to navigation

From a ship on the Tyrrenian Sea July 11, 2008

Posted by dorigo in personal, travel.
Tags: ,
trackback

Just a line from my cabin on a ship that is taking me and my family from Livorno to Golfo Aranci, on the north-west coast of Sardinia. From there, next morning we’ll drive south to Villasimius, for two weeks of relax. I have lots of work to do there however, so it will be a tough struggle between my wish to spend time on the beach and writing or reviewing articles.

Internet connection from there will be ok, but I expect a slightly lowered rate of posting for a while… I will try to keep high the quality and interest of the things I discuss, however.

Comments

1. Fred - July 11, 2008

Hola,

I thought you said you were going to relax?! i.e. “I have lots of work to do there however.” Why not land at Olbia, which is a bit closer to your final destination, instead of Golfo Aranci? I’ll bet the scenic drive to Villasimius is going to be terrific. Hope you and your family get all the rest you deserve and need.

2. Marco - July 12, 2008

Enjoy your stay!🙂

3. dorigo - July 12, 2008

Hello Fred,

unfortunately, I have loads of work ahead of me in July and August. But I will do my best to be efficient and save as much time as possible for other more relaxing activities.

Olbia and golfo aranci are close to each other. The ship we booked serves golfo aranci, and we like the service there.

Yes, parts of the trip gave us nice sights. But it is quite long… I am there now, but quite tired.

By the way Fred, are you going on vacations yourself ? Where to ?

Cheers,
T.

4. dorigo - July 12, 2008

Thank you Marco… Most certainly I will.

5. Jets - July 15, 2008

Hmmm… just wondering to have a great vacation like u dorigo…

6. Fred - July 16, 2008

Hello Tommaso,

The past few years I have had to vacation vicariously through others as the entertainment industry in L.A. has been shifting and actually losing jobs to other locations around the U.S. and abroad. So I am at the whim of the work presented along with the earnings. The majority of my work in recent years has revolved around video and film editing. My last virtual vacation was when my parents visited Italy for 6 weeks just over a month ago. Thankfully, my father likes to take a lot of photos and my mother loves to relate good stories in detail. But I think that reading books, writings and accounts by others is the next best thing to actually being there. It offers the great service of freeing our minds and is also a way to time travel. An exerpt from a book I just finished reading by Antoine de Saint-ExupĂ©ry titled, ‘Wartime Writings, 1939-1944′:

“It was on a day before the war, on the banks of the SaĂ´ne, near Tournus. We had chosen to lunch at a restaurant whose wooden terrace overlooked the river. (The CafĂ© de la Marine at Fleurville.) Leaning on a plain table scarred by customers’ knives, we had ordered two Pernods. The sun was warm. Its warm honey spread over the poplar tree on the opposite bank and over the plain of the horizon. We were completely at peace, sheltered from disorder by a perennial civilization.”

7. dorigo - July 17, 2008

Hi Fred,

ah, traveling with the mind is a great gift. Foster it with good readings!

Cheers,
T.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

