jump to navigation

The closest book game December 21, 2006

Posted by dorigo in Blogroll, books, games, internet, italian blogs, language, personal.
trackback

By monitoring incoming links today, I found 10 from http://backreaction.blogspot.com/ , and had a look. She had indeed linked me, and I found out it was an invitation to act on a game posted by clifford first.

So the game is, take the closest book to you right now, go to the fifth sentence on page 123, write the following three sentences in the blog, and tag three people.

The closest book to me in English (also visible from the picture in the previous post, if you have good eyes) is “Late Roman Painting” by my father, the late Wladimiro Dorigo. I’m quite happy to post three sentences from my father here.

“In the crypt of the Five Saints, in the Cemetery of Callistus, the only portrait of a praying figure which remains almost intact (though damaged) for inspection is that of ‘Dionysas’, so called from the inscription Dionysas in pace. It may well be affirmed, with De Walt, that every specific trace of impressionism has disappeared from this countenance. Its facial planes are so separated from the physiognomical lines of eyes, nose or mouth as to amount to a formal dissociation which is wholly expressionist.”

Wow that was long! Three sentences in pure Dorigo style. Now who should I tag ? Let’s see.

Ok, let’s take Gordon ( http://gordonwatts.wordpress.com ), Zerocold ( http://zerocold.wordpress.com ), and gattostanco ( http://gattostanco.diludovico.it/) .

This was fun!

Comments

1. Aggie - December 22, 2006

Can we play the game if we haven’t been tagged. Looks like sooooo much fun 🙂

2. dorigo - December 22, 2006

I think so Aggie, but check the initiator’s rule by following the link to sabine’s blog…
cheers,
t.

3. Closest Book « Life as a Physicist - December 22, 2006

[…] Sigh. I hate these blog games. Tommaso tagged me — the game is: So the game is, take the closest book to you right now, go to the fifth sentence on page 123, write the following three sentences in the blog, and tag three people. […]

4. gattostanco - December 24, 2006

Hi Tommaso. I just “played” the game in italian on my blog.
😀
Thanks.
Merry Christmas to you and your family!

5. dorigo - January 12, 2007

Hi superfake,

I do not know the origin of the game, sorry…

Cheers,
T.

6. Kathrine Lane - April 18, 2008

gangrenous christianite troublemaking heap entomostracous redevelop winebibber panegyricize
Eek Gallery
http://www.octoberhill.com/


Sorry comments are closed for this entry