jump to navigation

The incompetent c**ksucker January 11, 2007

Posted by dorigo in humor, language, news, personal.
trackback

The usual amusement I usually get by watching the “global edition” of “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” turned into amazement last night as I witnessed the show host calling names the former Defence Minister of the United States, Donald Rumsfeld. Of course it was exhilarating too…

While I do not actually believe that the description of Rumsfeld given by Stewart is totally accurate – nor do I care about Rummy’s private entertainment activities – I agree he demonstrated in the past few years to be sublimely incompetent, and a little bashing cannot be a bad idea.

However, I wonder how it is possible for Stewart to openly insult an influential figure in a TV show without getting sued for millions of dollars. I was unable to fetch the clip to link it here, so I can only recall Stewart used some sort of convoluted sentence when he said those words, and it is quite possible that by reading back exactly what he said, the case for suing him would be insufficient.

In Italy, a Stewart would certainly have been sued nonetheless. I wonder what Rummy’s going to do.

Comments

1. riqie arneberg - January 11, 2007

In america, one cannot be sued for things said about a public figure unless the allegations are proven false. If the context is obvious satire, even this method will fail. In this regare at least, The US is truly a free country. The constitution is particularly clear than, when speech is political, there shall be NO abridgement of freedom.

2. dorigo - January 11, 2007

Wow, that is something really amiss here in Italy!

Thank you for the clarification…

Cheers,
T.

3. andy - January 11, 2007

I thought this was a “family friendly” blog!
🙂

4. dorigo - January 11, 2007

Hmmmm that’s probably what I mean it to be too, but at times I tend to slide into the obscene…
Ultimately, that reflects my personality. I cannot take anything too seriously. I want this blog to be informative and to provide information for laymen about physics research, but I do it with my own style… Too bad if I lose a hit or two.

Cheers,
T.

5. dorigo - January 11, 2007

… And another comment I forgot above: if Jon Stewart does it in a show seen by millions of people around the globe, why couldn’t I ?
T.

6. dorigo - January 11, 2007

… But I added a couple of asterisks to the title of this post. After all, I do not want traffic from people looking for that word here.

Cheers,
T.

7. dorigo - January 12, 2007

Oh, and by the way, in the same show, of which I saw a replica yesterday, Jon uses the phrase “Jesus f***ing Christ”…

In Italy, he would be banned from public TV from swearing like that. It happened twice in the past as far as I can recall, to a comedian who was not invited any more, and to a participant to “L’isola dei Famosi” (something like “Survivor”) who was kicked out without mercy.

I just hate this.
T.

8. Josh Thompson - January 13, 2007

Of course, one couldn’t get away with such profanity on broadcast TV in the U.S. either. But you can do whatever you want on cable….

9. dorigo - January 13, 2007

Good point… I failed to take that into account.
T.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry